9765 45 Ave NW Edmonton, AB – T6E 5V8

Call: +1-587-400-3335

Federal PR Programs


There are numerous pathways to Canadian immigration, tailored to different circumstances. For skilled professionals and workers, Express Entry is the primary route, focusing on economic class immigrants eligible under programs like the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) or Canadian Experience Class (CEC). Another significant avenue is the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP), through which each province and territory selects immigrants to meet local job market needs. Quebec also offers its own pathways like the Quebec Skilled Worker Program and Quebec Experience Class.

Business immigrants can obtain Canadian permanent residence through programs such as the Federal Self-Employed Program, Start-up Visa, or entrepreneur programs under PNP and Quebec.

Canada also facilitates family reunification through family class sponsorship programs, allowing citizens and permanent residents to sponsor family members for immigration.

Skilled Worker Immigration Pathways

Express Entry

Express Entry is Canada’s primary system for managing applications from skilled workers under three key economic class immigration programs:

1. Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP)
2. Canadian Experience Class (CEC)
3. Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP)

Eligible candidates for Express Entry can create a profile on the federal government’s website. Each candidate is assigned a Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score based on factors like age, education, language proficiency, and work experience.

Approximately every two weeks, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) issues invitations to apply for permanent residence to candidates with the highest CRS scores.

IRCC strives to process permanent residence applications within six months.

Canada aims to welcome an average of 110,000 immigrants annually through Express Entry under its Immigration Levels Plan.

Candidates must meet specific requirements to qualify for immigration:

1. Language Test Results: Candidates must provide valid language test scores. Test results are typically valid for two years.

2. Educational Credential Assessment (ECA): International applicants must submit an ECA report demonstrating educational equivalency to Canadian standards. ECA reports remain valid for five years.

3. Online Application and Expression of Interest (EOI): Candidates must apply online and submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) through the relevant immigration program.

4. Minimum Points Score: Candidates need to achieve a minimum score of 67 points based on various profile factors, such as age, education, work experience, language proficiency, and adaptability.

5. Health and Character Certifications: Successful candidates who receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA) for permanent residence must provide health and character certifications as part of the visa application process.

Canadian Experience Class

The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is an immigration program designed for individuals with Canadian work experience who wish to become permanent residents.

Canadian Experience Class Requirements:

  • Eligibility: Applicants must have at least 12 months of full-time (or an equivalent amount in part-time) skilled work experience in Canada within the last three years before applying.

  • Skilled Work Experience: The work experience must be in one of the National Occupational Classification (NOC) skill levels 0, A, or B.

  • Language Proficiency: Applicants must meet the minimum language requirements in English or French for their occupation.

  • Intent to Reside Outside of Quebec: Applicants must plan to reside outside of the province of Quebec.

  • Express Entry System: CEC candidates must create an Express Entry profile and be invited to apply based on their Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score. 

Federal Skilled Trades Program

The Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) is an immigration pathway for skilled tradespersons who want to become permanent residents of Canada.

Key points about the FSTP:

  • Eligibility: Applicants must have at least two years of full-time work experience (or equivalent part-time) in a skilled trade within the five years before applying.

  • Skilled Trade Categories: The work experience must be in a skilled trade occupation classified under NOC skill level B.

  • Job Offer or Certificate of Qualification: Applicants must have either a full-time job offer for at least one year in Canada or a certificate of qualification in their skilled trade issued by a Canadian provincial or territorial authority.

  • Language Proficiency: Applicants must meet the minimum language requirements in English or French for their skilled trade.

  • Express Entry System: FSTP candidates must create an Express Entry profile and be invited to apply based on their Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score.


Looking for an authorized, regulated Canadian immigration consultant? We provide expert guidance on navigating Canada’s immigration process. Our consultants are authorized and regulated by the Immigration Consultants of Canada Regulatory Council (ICCRC). With us, you’ll receive reliable advice tailored to your unique situation, ensuring a smooth and successful immigration journey. Trust our experienced consultants to assist you with visa applications, permanent residency, citizenship, and more. Contact us today for personalized immigration support you can rely on.

Need an Advice for your Immigration Query
Get an Appointment Today!

Contact us today for expert assistance with visa applications, residency, citizenship, and more.

Contact Detail

Add: 9765 45 Ave NW Edmonton, AB – T6E 5V8

Call : 1-587-400-3335

Email: info@gsicanada.ca

Follow Us


You have been successfully Subscribed! Ops! Something went wrong, please try again.

© 2024 Copyright by GS Immigration Advisors

Scroll to Top